A hot one today…

Time:  8:51 AM (NYC)
Temp:  81°

BG Levels:  75 dl…

 Gonna be one of those ‘hot’ days where I’m going to have problems bringing up the BG Levels.  The Diabetic in me cannot stand summertime!  Temps are supposed to reach 96 degrees today.  So that means I probably won’t be eating.  The Curio Cook already started her little tirade about it, and Coronary-Marie is just sitting back sipping on some iced cold water.    Already I’m starting to walk like a sidewinder…   Been in the fridge twice this morning and the sight of food is turning me off.  My doctor told me that since I also have Hyperthyroidism, the heat of summer would not be my friend.  *Sigh*  Tis going to be one of those days… oh well.  Can’t escape it, so just gotta bear with it.

But in my little realm of the world, there’s always a bright side to things…  Because it’s gonna be a hot one today, there is no chance in heck that I’m going to be eating anything heavy!  Light meals today, light meals! 

Meaning:

  • Salad
  • Fruits and raw veggies to snack on
  • Plenty of water!

Coronary-Marie is smiling, the Curio Cook is ready to donned her apron and Miss Diabetica is just being an indifferent sloth!  Hots days are miserable to her and she can be quite the anti-social character!  As I’m writing this post, thoughts of what kind of salad to make to take with me on my journey today is filling my head.  It has to have some depth to it, as well as being light so the BG levels don’t sink pass 70 dl.  No hypoglycemic episodes today… it’s too hot! 

Anyhoo… the Curio Cook is thinking about making a veggie salad with some barley.

B-V Salad

1 medium zucchini, finely chopped
1 medium yellow squash, finely chopped
1/2 of 1 english cucumber, finely chopped
1/2 cup of carrots, finely chopped
1 cup of fresh string beans, cut diagonally in 1 inch pieces
1 cup of fresh corn, or 1 8 oz can of no-salt kernels [I’ll be using a ear of corn]
1/2 cup of finely chopped red bell pepper
1 cup of cooked barley*
1/2 of finely chopped scallions – white and green parts
1/2 cup of celery hearts, finely chopped
1 small fuji apple, finely chopped
1/4 cup of fresh chopped flat leaf parsley
1/4 tsp of coarse ground black pepper
Pinch of salt

Lemon Vinaigarette

1 medium lemon zested, and juiced
1/4 cup of extra virgin olive oil
Pinch of coarse ground black pepper
Pinch of sea salt

Preparation

In a small bowl, add the lemon zest and juice followed by the olive oil, black pepper and salt.  Whisked until olive oil and lemon juice emulsified.  Set aside.

Next in a small microwaveable bowl, pour barley in it and microwave on high for 1 minute.  This will thaw out the barley.  Set aside to cool.  In a large bowl, combine all the other ingredients and the cooled barley and mixed well.  Next pour the vinaigarette over salad and mixed well again.  Let salad sit so that all the ingredients infused and play nicely together.

I have these little containers that measures out 1 cup.  I just lucked out one day when I saw them on the shelves in Duane Reade.   *The barley, I tend to make a batch and measured out 1 cup fulls and freeze them in quart size ziploc bags.  I like barley.  Love the chewy texture of it.

So this is my meal plan of the day.  Think I’ll go eat a banana.  Don’t feel like eating it, but gotta put something on the stomach.  So there ya have it. 

Try to stay cool today.  😀

Laters! 😉

Leave a Reply

RSS Diabetes News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Health – Heart News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
