Bay Leaf… tha Good Stuff!

  The Bay Leaf… as you can see, it is a leaf; from a plant that one uses to cook with.

And I gotta say…

I love the heck out of Bay Leaves!!!

A leaf that imparts so much flavor to a dish.  Been cooking with B-leaves for some years now and the last four years, I’ve become quite lucky to be able to buy fresh b-leaves in batches.  The flavor is milder than the dry one, but since I’ve been buying the fresh ones,  I like them much better.  🙂

Anyhoo…

Ever notice when you’re in the kitchen cooking, you tend to nibble on one of the ingredients?  LOL One particular day, I was making some chickpeas in curry sauce and I’m dropping some bay leaves in the pot, and I noticed a small leaf in the bag and… well,  I popped it in my mouth.  I like munching on fresh herbs (Favorites:  Basil, Flat Leaf Parsley, Cilantro and Lemon Thyme) and even make a salad out of them.    Sooooo… eating that bay leaf  and tasting the spicy, minty flavor of it,  it had me wondering… should I be munching on these leaves????

So, on to do some research on the bay leaf.  I was really surprised at the information that I came across. 

Like for instance:

  • The leaves are used to treat stomach upsets and reduce the symptoms of digestive disorders. They contain enzymes that help to breakdown proteins and promote digestion of food.
  • Some compounds present in bay leaves makes them an efficient herbal remedy for headaches. They have also proved to be useful in the treatment of migraines.

Source:  Benefits of Bay Leaf

  • Treating high blood sugar because it helps the body process insulin more efficiently, which leads to lower blood sugar levels.

Source:  The properties of bay leaves and when to use them in your cooking

Ahhh… gotta love a good Herb that also has medicinal benefits attached to it.  I also read from a site that bay leaves can be brewed as a tea as well.

The Curio Cook in me eye’s got quite big.  O.O  So I will be trying a cup of freshly brewed bay leaves and get back with on how it turned out.  K? 😉

Laters!  😀

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. norma
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 09:52:45

    Hi Jay Jay!

    You let a comment on my blog about my pernil/mofongo. Thank you. Would love to subscribe to your blog, but can’t find a way. Please let me know how to go about it and subscribe to mine…I do have and will have some healthy postings.

    Norma
    Platanos, Mangoes and Me

    Reply

  2. norma
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 09:55:54

    I subscribed…sorry to bother

    Reply

Leave a Reply

RSS Diabetes News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Health – Heart News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
