Recipe Review: Curried Chicken with Cabbage, Apple, and Onion

Howdies! 😛

Been some days since I’ve made a post!

Yesterday, I made this dish that I found on Diabetic Living.com.  Since I didn’t have a meat protein this week, I decided to have… chicken.  Got to browsing the recipes and this one stuck out — well, it’s only because I already had all the ingredients in the pantry.  😛  

My Substitutions and Variations were:

  • Instead of Rome or Jonathan apples, I used Fuji apples
  • Instead of apple juice, I used apple cider — but 1/4 cup, and two tbsps of apple cider vinegar
  • I used a Nappa Cabbage
  • I also added raw Fennel (1/2 cup) in the slaw (well, if you think about it, it’s actually a slaw)
  • Along with the fennel, I added 3 stalks of Celery, julienne
  • I replaced the onions with 3 scallions, using both white and green, thinly sliced
  • I used Mild Curry powder – love the taste of curry, but I can’t take the spicy one.
  • I omitted using the butter.
  • Instead of black pepper, I used a Peppercorn combination – Pink, Green and Black, coarsely ground
  • I butterflied the chicken breasts and grilled them on my infamous George Foreman Grill 😀
  • I didn’t cook the slaw all the way through.  I wanted the veggies to still have  a nice crunch to them.  Cooking time:  5 minutes only.

Again, these are the ingredients from my pantry.

Recipe:

SERVINGS: 4 servings (1 chicken breast half with 1 cup cabbage mixture per serving)

CARB GRAMS PER SERVING: 19

Curried Chicken with Cabbage, Apple, and Onion
1 teaspoon curry powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
4 small skinless, boneless chicken breast halves (1 to 1-1/4 pounds total)
2 teaspoons olive oil
2 teaspoons butter
1 medium onion, sliced and separated into rings
3 cups shredded cabbage
2 red-skin cooking apples (such as Rome or Jonathan), cored and thinly sliced
1/2 cup apple juice

1. In a small bowl, combine 1/2 teaspoon of the curry powder, the salt, and pepper. Sprinkle spice mixture evenly over chicken; rub in with your fingers.

2. In a large nonstick skillet, heat oil over medium-high heat. Add chicken. Cook for 8 to 12 minutes or until no longer pink (170°F), turning once. Transfer chicken to a platter. Cover to keep warm.

3. Melt butter in the hot skillet. Add onion. Cook about 5 minutes or until onions are tender, stirring occasionally. Stir in cabbage, apple, and apple juice. Sprinkle with the remaining 1/2 teaspoon curry powder. Cook for 3 to 4 minutes or just until apples and vegetables are tender, stirring occasionally.

4. To serve, divide chicken and cabbage mixture among four dinner plates.

Nutrition Facts Per Serving:

  • Servings: 4 servings (1 chicken breast half with 1 cup cabbage mixture per serving)
  • Calories 237
  • Total Fat (g) 6
  • Saturated Fat (g) 2
  • Monounsaturated Fat (g) 2
  • Polyunsaturated Fat (g) 1
  • Cholesterol (mg) 71
  • Sodium (mg) 231
  • Carbohydrate (g) 19
  • Total Sugar (g) 13
  • Fiber (g) 4
  • Protein (g) 27
  • Vitamin A (DV%) 0
  • Vitamin C (DV%) 43
  • Calcium (DV%) 5
  • Iron (DV%) 8

Diabetic Exchanges

  • Fruit (d.e.) 1
  • Vegetables (d.e.) 1
  • Lean Meat (d.e.) 3.5

My take on this dish

I thought it was quite tasty, since I put in some apple cider vinegar for the added tartness and acidity.  Grilling the chicken brought out the curry flavor more.  I would make this make this dish again.  It was light, flavorful and I don’t think I would change anything about the way I prepared it.  My offsprings stated that the chicken came out better since I grilled it.  I concur.  Grilling and tenting the chicken afterwards kept it juicy.

Note:  As you can see, there’s not too much seasoning to this dish.  I didn’t mind it at all since there are times where I can’t handle too much seasoning or spices.    By not using the butter in this dish, I’m hoping that it had lower the cholesterol in the dish! 😛

Rating:  8.5/10.  I really enjoyed the slaw.  Next time I make this, I will add some Jicama to it.  Jicama does a salad good! 😉

I’m hankering for a veggie lasagna.  O.O  It’s summertime, and I want lasagna.  Perhaps I’ll make it this weekend, perhaps I won’t.  On the truth side of things, I probably will!  LOL

Okay that’s about it.

Have a safe, fun-filled 4th of July Weekend.  k?

Laters!  🙂

Leave a Reply

RSS Diabetes News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Health – Heart News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
