The Misadventure of the Curio Cook

For a while now the Curio Cook in me has been working (and bless her soul at that) everso faithfully on perfecting a Curry Sauce.  😀  Oh how she toiled and sweated over a hot stove to create a curry sauce that we (me and my imaginative characters 😛 ) would enjoyed and always go back for more!

Wasn’t all roses and peaches in the beginning… more like bad, bad, bad dishes!  Either too much turmeric was put in; or too much cumin was added, or too less smoked paprika, and let’s not forget mistaking mild curry  for hot curry!  O.O  And then it was the right combination of veggies to use and when to add them to the pot (some added in the beginning of the cooking process and some later before the dish was ready).

And today, the Curio Cook struck Gold!

I had the most delish Vegetable Curry dish eeevvvuuurrr!!!!  LOL And after NYC just came off a tumultuous heat wave and I was in the kitchen cooking!  Ha!

Okay, you know how you buy fresh veggies and sometimes those veggies can be on sale… thus, you buy more then you need.  What to do, what to do…   This happens to me all the time!  No matter what, if there’s a veggie that I like and if there’s a good sale on them, I’m buying.   I have these jumbo freezer bags and instead of me separating each veggie, I just throw them all in the same bag!  One heck of a big bag of veggie medley.  So since this is the season for Zucchini, Squash, String beans, Okra and other summer veggies, I just get them and use what I need and chopped up the rest and throw them in my veggie medley bag.  I’m amazed at what’s in that bag.  😛 

My Veggie Medley Bag consist of:

  • Butternut squash
  • Rutabaga
  • Okra
  • Broccoli Florets
  • Mushrooms (portabella, cremini, white button and oyster)
  • Zucchini
  • Yellow Squash
  • Cubanelle peppers
  • Red bell peppers
  • Carrots
  • Chopped Swiss Chard
  • Celery
  • Eggplant
  • String beans
  • Sweet potato
  • Onions
  • Corn, cut from the cobb

Thinks that’s it.  Once I bring the veggies home, I just give them all a good chopping and add them to the bag.  I’ve read on some sites to blanched the veggies first and then freeze them.  Nah… chop and freeze has been working nicely for me.  <—hey, that kinda rhymed there!  😛

Anyhoo, since I’m one of those folks that can’t take on too much spice, the sauce is on the mild side, but it does have some good flavor.  After the sauce was made, I had used some steamed veggies I had the other night along with some basmati rice.

Curry Sauce

Ingredients

2 cups of vegetable stock, divided
4 tbsps of  mild curry powder
1/2 tsp of turmeric powder
1/2 tsp of smoked paprika
1/3 tsp of cumin
Juice of one lime
2 splashes of worcestershire sauce
Pinch of cinnamon
1/3 tsp of coarse ground black pepper
Pinch of sea salt (optional)
1 tbsp of Smart Balance Spread
2 tbsp of cornstarch
2 fresh bay leaves

Preparation

In a wok on medium heat, heat the 1 tbsp of Smart Balance Spread.  When it’s completely melted, add the spices and the lime juice and stir well for 2 minutes.  Next add the cornstarch and worcestershire sauce and stir well.  Once the mixture has turned into a thick paste, whisk in 1 cup of the vegetable stock.  Turn up to the heat a bit to allow the sauce to begging slowly boiling.  Once sauce starts to boil, add the remainder cup of vegetable stock and whisk for a few minutes and remove from heat. 

This sauce can be kept up to 1 week in the fridge, or 3-6 months in the freezer.  If sauce becomes watery after sitting for a bit, just reheat and whisk to thickened back up.

Depending on the thickness, add a little bit more cornstarch or a 1/2 cup of water to thin it out.  This sauce can be “spiced-up” to your liking.  😉 

Since my veggies were already steamed, I added 3 cups  to the sauce, mixed well and lower the heat to simmer.  I let it simmer until the veggies were heated through.  Turning off the heat, I added a cup and a half of baby spinach leave and a handful of scallions (to which was pre-chopped and frozen) and let the spinach wilt.  I spoon some over basmati rice and talk about good eating!  Delish!  😀  Love how a dish comes together!  

Another Success!  yay!  😀

Did you know?

Curry is also beneficial to Diabetics?   I found this article on Everyday Health

Type 2 Diabetes:  Foods that Help and Hurt 

I’m quite happy with my little sauce.  It made me happy today.  🙂  So now, I’m scheming about all the different meals I plan to use with this sauce.

Well, that’s it in a nutshell.

Laters!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. norma
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 10:04:55

    Hi!
    Go to my blog and subscribe and put your picture in and you will receive all my postings as I publish. Also look at old posts and you will see so vegetarian dishes.

    Of I go on vacation and will be back on the 19th.

    Nice meeting a fellow blogger

    Reply

  2. norma
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 12:53:58

    freat post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

RSS Diabetes News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Health – Heart News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
