Veggie Rice Pilaf

a good rice is what makes the pilaf! 😉

Afternoon Foodies/Bloggers 😛

Today, I wanted a good dish; no… I mean a really good dish and was in the fridge knocking things around when the light above my head went off:  Vegetable Rice Pilaf!

Had all the Usual Suspects

  • Rice
  • Veggies
  • Seasonings

A nice meal that I can also carry with me today for my din-din tonight at work.  But let’s talk about rice for a hot moment.   I’m one of those folks that likes a firm, fluffy rice.  If it’s mushy, or sticky I won’t eat it.   It’s all about the cooking method, timing and the adding of the “right about of water/broth/stock.  This year, I fell in love with Basmati Rice.  A rice that’s actually a forgiven type of rice because even if it turns out a bit on the mushy side, it’s still good.  Since changing my eating habits to a healthier one, this has been the year that I steered away from my beloved Camino rice to brown rice, texmati, jasmine and basmati.

Can I just tell you I can’t STAND BROWN RICE?!  Hate it, hate it, hate it!  No matter what brand, how many ways I tried to doctored it up, I can’t stand brown rice.  Then I tried the Texmati Basmati Brown rice; it’s doable.  Twice the cooking time, but I can stand it.  Then I tried Jasmine and even added some Jasmine tea to the cooking water.  Love the fragrance, but I don’t care too much for the stickiness it can have to it.  But I will eat it still.  For all that I’ve tried, nothing takes the place of Basmati.  I just love it!  😀  Jackpot!  When I didn’t think it couldn’t get any better, well it did.

Came across

 Goya Aged Basmati Rice

Oh goodness, what a great rice this is!  The first time I cook it, I used “equal” amounts of water.  When it was done and the firmness and fluffiness of it, made me do a happy dance I tell ya!  😛

I think I fell into rice heaven — if there’s such a thing.  As with regular basmati rice, adding lime juice before it’s done, gives it such a freshness that I can’t wait to cook more dishes with it. 

A bit on the costly side  (176 oz = $25.99), but to me, so worth it!  😉  Well today with my usual suspects, I made a Vegetable Rice Pilaf.  And it came out sooooooooooooooo delish!  😀  Quite happy with my little dish I must say.

Recipe:

Veggie Rice Pilaf

Ingredients

2 cups of Vegetables ( taken from my bag of Veggie Medley)
2 cups of cooked Basmati Rice (can be slightly under done)
1/2 tsp Turmeric powder
1/4 tsp Cumin powder
1/2 tsp of minced garlic (2 cloves)
1/4 cup scallions – white and green parts
Dash of sea salt (optional)
Dash of coarse black pepper
1 tsp low sodium vegetable granules
1 cup of water
1 tbsp Smart Balance Spread

Preparation

1.  In large pan with fitted lid, melt the tbsp of Smart Balance spread with the garlic, cumin, turmeric and veggie granules until granules has melted into mixture.  Next add the veggies, continue stirring for the next 2 minutes to well coat the veggies. 

2.  Add the two cups of cooked rice, followed by the sea salt and pepper and stir well.

3.  Pour the cup of water in, and stir.   Lower the heat to a simmer and cover with lid.  Cook for the next ten minutes or until water has absorbed.

This dish is enough for 4 1 cup servings or enough for 3 side dishes.  I signed up for Nutritional Data… I just don’t know how to work yet!  😦  I’ll figure it out so that I can start adding the nutritional value to the recipes that I posted.

Happy eating!

Okay, soooooooooo…. that’s it in a nutshell.

Laters!  🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. norma
    Jul 18, 2010 @ 11:19:20

    I use Goya products frequently and I think some of them are outstading. I have never tried their rice…thanks for the heads up and this dish is perfect for my vegetarian clients…Thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

RSS Diabetes News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Health – Heart News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
