The Grin that turned into a Smile, that lead to a Squeal…

Howdies!  😛

Today I’m feeling a bit better and woke up in a good mood. 🙂  Thank goodness for small blessings!

So question:

Have you ever wanted to try something “NEW,” but was too afraid or skeptical to do so?  😛

Well, this is me with trying a new dish dealing with Chickpeas.  Now I like chickpeas.  Like the way how you can make quite a few dishes out of them.  One dish I have always been curious about but was a Chicken [cluck, cluck!] to try was,

Mock Tuna Fish Salad

I have seen quite a few recipes online for mock tuna fish salad.  None of them appealed to me until I came across The KitchnChickpea-of-the-Sea” recipe!  Truth be told, it was the picture that grabbed me.  So I got to thinking hey, can’t really be that bad… right?  After all, it is chickpeas and I do like them.  But afterwards thinking that, what if it doesn’t come out right?  What if I don’t like it?  Dang it!  If I make it and I don’t like it, that means I  still gonna have to eat it.  T.T   Welll, couldn’t stop thinking about it today and instead of the Curio Cook in me jumping out and telling me to try it, I was the one telling her that we were gonna try it.  Ha!  In The Kitchn recipe, it called for 1 1/2 tsp of Umebochi vinegar to give it a fishy taste.  Never tried, probably can’t find it in my area, so it’s a skip.

Of course with all recipes, we all put our own spin on it.  So here’s the recipe:

Chickpea Salad w/Spinach on a Wheat Tortilla

Ingredients

1 15.5 oz can of Chickpeas drained but do not rinsed*
1 celery stalk, chopped finely
1 small vidalia onion, finely chopped
1/4 cup of low fat mayonnaise (or more to your liking)
2 tbsp of yellow mustard** (or less to your liking)
1/4 (equals to 1 egg) cup of liquid egg whites
1 tbsp of unsweetened pickled relish
1 tbsp of red and green bell pepper, chopped finely
Pinch of coarse black pepper
Few dashes of celery seeds (optional)
1 dash of paprika (optional)
Handful of baby spinach

*With the salt that was in the liquid, don’t rinsed… that way it will be no need to add additional salt. 😉

**I used Gulden’s Yellow Mustard.  I like the taste of it, plus it’s milder than grain mustard, which I find to be too strong for me. 

Preparation

First, scramble the egg white and chopped into small pieces.  Set aside and let cool.   Take the drained chickpeas and place in your food processor and pulse two to three times until chickpeas are coarsely chopped.  Put ground chickpeas into a bowl, followed by all the ingredients and mix well. 

Take one wheat tortilla and warm in microwave on a lightly dampen paper towel.  Next, place tortilla on a plate and place as much spinach as you on it followed by the chickpea salad.  Fold and tuck the edges until securely rolled up.  Cut in half and get to eating!  😛

The Outcome

After the first bite, a grin was on my face, followed by an ear-to-ear smile and then a squeal of

Oh my gosh!  This is so good!

I would’ve never thought that this salad would be as good as it is.  I liked it… I really liked it!  All the ingredients played happily together and it was good.  Love how the celery seeds gave it an extra punch!  I put celery seeds in any salad I make.  Just like how it taste.  Me and my characters are all quite happy with the end results.  You know, sometimes trying new things can be on the scary side or the skeptic in one can deterred one from trying it, but you gotta step up to the plate and just give it a go or swing… however you want to interpret it.  😛    Oh yea, good eatz tonight.  Because I know after a couple of hours in the fridge, it’s really going to be good.

Okay, gotta get ready to step out into the world.

Have a good day foodies!

Laters!  😀

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. norma
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 12:40:50

    SOunds good …would love to have seen a picture…Glad your spirits are high

    Reply

Leave a Reply

RSS Diabetes News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Health – Heart News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
