Soy Chunks…

Howdy!

Can we talk for a quick moment?  Yeah?  Cool!  😀

Soy Chunks!

One of the food items that I’ve been wanting to try, was on my Bucket List  [No. 48] and I lucked out and found some!

  This was the product that I brought.  And being that the price was really reasonable, I brought a couple.  Now acting on impulse and not quite thinking, when I got home with it, the million dollar question popped up:

What the heck am I going to do with this stuff??? 

LOL

But…

For some reason, I felt like a little excited kid!  The curio cook in me jumped out and told me that I was on my own with this.  Both of us were clueless!  LOL  Not jumping online like I usually do to look up food items and recipes to them, I just read the instructions on the back and gave it a good.  Now imagine getting in the kitchen on a hot NY day… I really had to be either crazy or really wanted to try this item out! 

*This was cooking/experimentation, so there’s not going to be a recipe.  Gomen. 🙂

The instructions called for the chunks to soak for twenty minutes.  Opened up the bag and other than looking like Kibbles and bits, it even smelled like it.  Ha!  Questioned myself did I really want to brave the waters with this!  But I pressed on.  Filled a pot with lukewarm water and in went two cups of the chunks.  Still not knowing what I wanted to do with it, I just brought out my holy grail of cooking that never fails me:  the Mirepoix of cooking:  onions, celery, carrots, bay leaves and garlic!  I know mirepoix entails the first three, but gotta have bay leaves and garlic in the mix!  Since I had a large shallot, it was going into the pan too. 😛  After chopping and dicing, in went all the ingredients in a large pan with 1 tbsp of olive oil.  While it was sautéing, I squeeze out the soy chunks and place in a bowl.  Curiosity got the better of me and I tried one.  Chewy… that’s what came to mind.  A brown chewy chunk THAT WAS SCREAMING FOR FLAVOR! 

After squeezing out the last bit of  of the soy chunks, into the pan they went.  Stirring to mixed altogether, I grabbed some Adobo and shake, shake, shake and stir to incorporate.  Took a chunk and tasted it.  Not bad.  One of those food items like tofu that soaks up the flavoring with the food it’s being cooked with.  I deglazed the pan by adding a quarter cup of white wine to it, followed by a cup and a half of chicken stock and gave it a good stir.  For some reason, chickpeas came to mind and I added a can of chickpeas to it — juice and all.  That’s where my salt content came into the dish.    Next, I added a little bit of cornstarch slurry (just a little bit because I didn’t want the sauce to be too thick) and let it simmer for ten minutes.  Afterwards, I added some coarse black pepper in the end and turn off the heat.   Gave it a taste, and it was good.  The soy chunks absorbed all the flavoring  and later, I’ll make a small pot of basmati rice to go with and garnish with some cilantro. 

Not bad.  I can think of a couple of dishes I can make with these soy chunks.  Success!!!!  A food item that I’m liking.  Yay!  😀  Well, when the weather change to the cooler side, then I’ll be in the kitchen conjuring up a dish to make with these soy chunks and then a recipe post shall go up!  😉

Okay, that’s it for me.  Gotta get a move on.

Have a good day!

Laters!

Leave a Reply

RSS Diabetes News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Health – Heart News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
