CousCous-Veggie Pilaf w/Tofu (Yummmm….)

Heyas!  😀

Today was a nice cool day to get in the kitchen and cook up a dish!  Yay!  😛   Lately — well, for the past week and a half, I’ve been on a Tofu kick!  It was tofu this, tofu that, and don’t know why because I’m kinda impartial to tofu, but everything had to have some tofu in it.  Been strict with myself with vegetarian eating only because I fell off the wagon last month.  😦  I don’t know… I just got a bit bored with eating vegetable-laced dishes.  I would have my meat protein (which of course was ground chicken) and Morning Star and Bocca products, but for some reason, I just wanted more than that.

To which left me this month wanting NOTHING TO DO WITH RICE!  Need a break from the stuff.  So this morning, I was banging my head upside the wall (figuratively speaking) on what I wanted but — it had to have some tofu in it!  🙂  Then it struck me… the Veggie-Rice Pilaf I’ve made some posts back but with a change:  Tofu and CousCous.  Went to the store and grab the usual suspects:

  • Veggies
  • Tofu

But this time, I added a new item to the list:  CousCous.  So here goes:

CousCous-Veggie Pilaf  w/Tofu

Ingredients

Two boxes of quick cooking (5 minutes) Olive Oil and Garlic flavored Wheat Couscous
1 medium Zucchini, sliced thinly
1 medium Yellow Squash, sliced thinly
1 small Spanish onion, chopped fine
1 tsp of Onion powder
1 tsp of low-sodium Vegetable granules
1/8 tsp of coarsely fresh ground pepper
Dash of salt (optional)
1 tsp of Smart Balance Spread
1 tbsp of Olive Oil
4 sprigs of saffron

Preparation

30 minutes prior to making the dish, drain the tofu and squeeze as much water out by hand and then sliced into three slabs.  Take the slabs and place between papertowels and then weigh the pieces down with a heavy object.  I used my hard cast frying pan.  Does the trick every time.  😉  Weighing down the tofu will also get rid of the water it was packaged in.

Cook couscous according to the package directions (which really is boiling 1 1/4 or 1 1/2 cup of water with either 2 tsp of olive oil or butter) [since I made two boxes, double the water but I only use a tiny splash of olive oil since the couscous was going to be tossed with the sautéed veggies and tofu. ], fluff with fork after waiting like 5 minutes, and set aside.   Now the tofu is dry enough to cut into 1 inch strips and then cube the strips and set aside.

In a large frying pan, add the Smart Balance spread, the olive oil, seasoning and the saffron and let cook for 2 minutes.  Add the onions and stir to coat, followed by the zucchini and yellow squash.  Mix well.  Take out the zucchini and squash and set aside.  This is for the purpose of coating the vegetables in the seasoned oil.  Add the tofu to pan and stir fry for 10 minutes and then add back the vegetables and cook for additional 10 minutes.  Remove from heat.   Add the couscous and stir well.  Put the lid on the frying pan and let stand for 5 minutes. 

Now you’re ready to eat!  🙂

This was great a dish!  I enjoyed it.  Yay for a success!!!!  Love when a dish comes out like I envisioned it.  😀  Going to have me a nice din-din tonight and the offsprings will have a dish made when they come home.  And I did it all with recurring hot flashes happening every five minutes!  LMAO!

And now this post is done.  😛  Well, it’s time for me to get ready for work.

Have a good day everyone.

Laters!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. norma
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 13:58:05

    Yummy and healthy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

RSS Diabetes News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Health – Heart News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
