Trying something new on ONE heck of a PRAYER!!! xD

Part 1

Evenin’ Folks!  😛 

How’s your Saturday evening going?  Me, I was in the kitchin’  on the creative side.  Well, had a thought and just went with it.  The supermarket across the street from me had this super mega sale Friday and I just went crazy!  Even Splenda was on sale.  Ha!  So anyhoo… still in my Tofu phase and it was on sale, but unfortuately when I got there, all the extra firm and firm tofu was gone and the only ones left was soft and silken. 

The first time I tried tofu, I brought the silken one and I will not tell you what a disastarous ordeal I had trying to make a dish out of it.  Some things are left to be unsaid!

Now….

I wanted some tofu, so I brought two of the soft.  Can’t be that bad right?   Walking down the isles along side the meat section, ground chicken was on sale.  Not that it wasn’t all that expensive to begin with, but Purdue ground chicken had a sweet sale going on.  Since that’s basically the only meat protein that I’ll eat, I brought a pack — but thoroughly (LOL) checked the package it was in, along side of the expiration date.  Hey… can’t be too careful.  😉  And to end my little shopping spree with some other stuff, I lugged it all home, cried out for my offsprings to come get the bags and that was that… the end.

Today….

All kinds of thoughts were going through my head what I wanted to make; what I wanted to do.  And couldn’t decide decisively.    I wanted to make a tofu mac and cheese, then I wanted to make tofu and veggies enchiladas and then I wanted to make some chicken burgers… as the day progressed and still haven’t made up my mind on what to do.  So when 9 pm chimed in, a thought popped in…

What if I mixed the tofu and the ground chicken together? 

And then I became a bit excited at the thought!  O.O  Got in the kitchen and drained the tofu, wrapped it in some papertowels and weighed it down for hmmmm… about 30 minutes.  Into the bowl it went.  Next, I crumbled it up like scrambled eggs.  Once that was done, I added the g-chicken.  Placing the bowl to the side,   I grabbed a small bowl and in went:

1 tbsp of garlic powder
1 tbsp of paprika
1 tbsp of chicken seasoning
1 tsp of cumin
1 tsp of sage
1 tbsp of freeze-dried chives
1 tsp of dried parsley
1/4 tsp coarse black pepper
1 cup of seasoned whole wheat bread crumbs

Mixed all together to break up the spices.  On to finely chopping up 1 large vidalia onion. 

Back to the tofu and ground chicken.  To it,  I added  some wet ingredients:

1 tbsp thai sweet chili sauce
2 tbsp of hoisin sauce
2 tsp of sesame oil
1/2 tsp of minced ginger
1/2 tsp of minced garlic
1 tbsp soy sauce

Mixed all together with my hands.  Once mixed together, I added the dry seasoning, dividing it up so that all can get thoroughly mixed in. Lastly, I added the onions.  The aromas hitting my nose, it just smelled so good.  So, my seasoning was on point.  Yay!

My next move after that?  I stood there for some minutes and looked at the well mixed concoction.  HAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHA  I really didn’t know what I wanted to do with it next!  It was binded quite well and I know if I put it on the grill or fried it, it would have kept it shape.  If I was a cartoon character, this would been how I looked:

So… this is what I did; I divided the mixture up and rolled each in some wax paper and aluminum foil and in the oven it went.  That’s as far as I got with this experiment.  I think I will let them cook in the oven for about 45-50 minutes.  And then I’m going to put the logs cool down before I put them  in the fridge and pick up with it in the morning.

So stay tuned for part two.  Maaaannnnnn I’m hoping that this will be a success instead of a failure!

On that note, have a goodnight everyone.

Laters!  😀

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. norma
    Sep 26, 2010 @ 12:44:47

    you have great ingredients…can’t wait

    Reply

Leave a Reply

RSS Diabetes News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Health – Heart News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
