Cooking Experiment: Mock Frito Pie

Now that I’ve gotten the previous post out of the way, on to the cooking experiment I did last night.  😉

Wednesday, I received an email from one of my friends who just got back into town from Austin, Texas visiting relatives.  (Hey, why don’t anyone make phone call anymore? 😛 )  In the email she mentioned that she had a dish that was interesting and she enjoyed immensely:  Frito pie.  Frito pie, what the heck is that?  I wondered.  I didn’t think about it until last night when I was thinking about what I was going to make for dinner.  Got online and look up Frito pie.  I never had it, never heard of it and when I saw what it was and what it entailed, it took me by surprised. 

From wikipedia:

  Frito pie is a dish made with chili, cheese, and corn chips.  Optional additions include salsa, refried beans, rice, and jalapeños, among others.  It is popular in the Southern and Southwestern United States; particularly the states of Texas, New Mexico, and Oklahoma.

Now my challenge was, how to make this vegetarian and a bit on the healthy side.  😀   The Curiocook in me was on the estatic side while the diabetic and the heart sat back and waited for the finished dish.

Now mind you… this was a cooking experiement.  😉

After thinking about it for a bit, here is what  I came up with. 

Ingredients that I used:

Mission Corn Tortillas
1 can of Goya refried black beans
1 can of corn fiesta (corn mixed with green and red bell peppers)
1 small spanish onion, chopped
1 tsp of cumin mixed into the refried black beans
1 bag of shredded mexican cheese
No fat Greek Yogurt
1 scallion, finely chopped on the bias
Sprigs of cilantro for garnish
Muffin pan
Cooking spray

I preheated the oven to 375.   I spray the muffin pan (the one that makes 6) and lightly sprayed it and rubbed the cooking spray onto it.  Next, I took a tortilla and inserted one into each hole, making sure that I didn’t break them.  I added a teaspoon of the shredded cheese, followed by two tablespoons of the refried back beans, topped with a tablespoon of the fiesta corn, some of the chopped onions  and lastly, a tablespoon of the shredded cheese. 

I baked the mock Frito pies for 25 minutes.  The cheese made a nice crunchy crust on top, and the outer shell was nice and crunchy.  I topped each one with a dollop the greek yogurt and some of the scallions and a sprig of cilantro.

Grabbed my taste testers and here’s the feedback I got:

Offspring #1:  Great Idea!  However, it needed more spice to it, along with some salt and perhaps some salsa?  Oh, and don’t bake the onions in the pie next time.  Instead, sprinkle it on top along with the scallions.  Like the yogurt.  It has that bite like sour cream.  I like this little test.   🙂

Offspring #2:  I have to agree; DEFINITELY needs some kind of spice like chili and a sauce.  Maybe instead of a crunchy cheese crust, a nice oozing cheese toping would be better.  Like more cheddar cheese and american cheese.   I liked it, but it’s a bit too vegetarian for me and too much on the healthy side!  “=_= 

My take on the dish:  I liked it the way it was!  That’s only because I can’t consume too much spice and to me, the refried black beans had enough spice in it already.  While offspring #2 didn’t care for the crunchy cheese crust, I did.  Although, I will admit that a bit of oozing cheese would have been great in the pie itself.  Perhaps mix some of it in the beans or shred some monterey cheese and cheddar cheese and let that be the first layer?  Hmmm…

One of the things I was glad I didn’t do was heat the refried bean before hand.  I think it would’ve  made the pies fall apart.  I was surprised that the bottom of the pies did not fall apart from the weight of the ingredients.  Cracked a little, but still held their shapes. 

Being that this was dinner along with being an experiment, I made some Yellow rice [I used the aged basmati rice] mixed with some veggies and some sautéed swiss chard.  It was a well-rounded meal if I have to say so myself.  😉

Well, even though they gave me their suggestions, they ate their share and wondered how soon would I make another batch for them with added spices and some kind of sauce.  Thinking I’ll try again next weekend.   For me personally, I would make it as it again for myself. 

This cooking experiment was a Success!  Yay!

If you were making a mock Frito pie, what ingredients would you use?

Okay, that’s it for me.  Being that it’s Saturday, time for me to go do some shopping for my usual suspects.  😀

Have a great day. 

Laters!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. norma
    Jan 16, 2011 @ 10:52:44

    When someone offered me this dish I almos choked, but had to try it. It was pretty good.

    I have not visited your site in so long. I remember your great comment on my pernil stuffed with mofongo.

    Happy New Year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

RSS Diabetes News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Health – Heart News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
