Trying something new on one heck of a prayer Pt. 2

Evenin’ !  😀

First off, I have to give an apology for not giving the pt 2 to “trying something new on one heck of a prayer” sooner.   Life sometimes has a way of getting in the way… anyhoo,

excerpt from last post:

So… this is what I did; I divided the mixture up and rolled each in some wax paper and aluminum foil and in the oven it went.  That’s as far as I got with this experiment.  I think I will let them cook in the oven for about 45-50 minutes. 

The actual cooking process took 80 minutes.  The logs cooked in the wax paper and aluminum foil for 60 minutes because I wanted to draw as much water out as possible and then I let it cook unwrapped for an additional 20 minutes to let them brown and crisp up a bit.  The outcome,

Success!!!!!  It was a great dish!  😀  No really, those logs came out great!  I cut one loaf into 2 inch pieces (1  yield enough for 6 – 2 inch pieces) and with them, I made a honey mustard sauce and rustic (because I left the skin on and plenty of lumps!  😛 ) mashed potatoes.  Haven’t exactly came up with an interesting name for the logs; actually you can think of them as a type of meatloaf, but just skinnier.  😛  The only modification that I would make to this dish, is adding brown mustard.   Mustard just seemed to go so well with these loaves!   

I was pleased and quite happy that it was a success and not a fail!  Even the offspring enjoyed it.  Yay!  Ha!  Now the complete meal recipe:

Ground Chicken and Tofu Loaf with Honey Mustard sauce

Ingredients

GCT Loaf:

1 lb of ground chicken
2 packs of soft tofu, drained and pressed
1 large vidalia onion, finely chopped
1 tbsp thai sweet chili sauce
2 tbsp of hoisin sauce
2 tsp of sesame oil
1/2 tsp of minced ginger
1/2 tsp of minced garlic
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp of garlic powder
1 tbsp of paprika
1 tbsp of chicken seasoning
1 tsp of cumin
1 tsp of sage
1 tbsp of freeze-dried chives
1 tsp of dried parsley
1/4 tsp coarse black pepper
1 cup of seasoned whole wheat bread crumbs

Honey Mustard Sauce

1/2 cup of chicken broth
3 tbsp of yellow mustard
2 tbsp of honey
1/8 tsp of ground peppercorn mix
Dash of salt

Preparation

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

In a bowl, add all the dry seasoning along with the bread crumbs and mixed together.  Set aside.   In another bowl, add the Thai sweet chili sauce, hoisin sauce, soy sauce, sesame oil, and the minced ginger and garlic.  Mixed together.   This was done in steps because I’ve learned that if you manipulate ground chicken meat too much, it changes the texture and caused it to become a bit rubbery.

Place the tofu in a large mixing bowl and mashed using either a folk or a potato masher until it looks like scrambled eggs.  Add the ground chicken and mix well.  Add the wet ingredients and mix well by hand, or wooden spoon.  Add the dry ingredients in half by adding half the seasoning/mix and the other half and mix well — but don’t over mix!  Last, add the onions and incorporate them into the mixture.  Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and set aside for the ingredients to marry well for 20 minutes room temperature.

While waiting,  I prepared the potatoes by boiling them w/skin on.  After twenty minutes, I divided the mixture into halves.  Since I didn’t have parchment paper, I used wax paper instead.  Rolling out the paper, I laid it on a baking sheet and took one half of the mixture and shaped it into a loaf.  The mixture has a nice consistency, and it held its shape.  Roll the mixture into the wax paper and wrap in aluminum foil.  Do the same for the other half.  Place in the oven and let cook for 60 minutes.  After 30 minutes, the loaves will begin to sweat out its seasoned water. 

While the loaves continue to baked, I made the rustic mashed potatoes.  After draining the potatoes, I added them back to the pot and mashed them with a wooden spoon.  I wanted the potatoes to be half mashed, half lumpy.  🙂  Yes, I’m one of those folks that likes lumpy m-potatoes.  To them I added 1 cup of soy milk and 3 tablespoons of Smart Balance spread, some pepper and salt to taste and stirred well.   By this time, such a lovely smell was coming from the oven. 😀  After the sixty minutes were up, I took the loaves out of the oven and carefully unwrapped them (will be hot!) and placed them back into the oven for another 20 minutes so that the loaves brown and the outer skin becomes a bit more solid.

On to making the honey mustard sauce.  In a sauce pan, I added the ingredients and brought it to a high boil so that the honey quickly breaks down.  When the sauce begin to boil, whisk together and turn the heat down to a simmer. Simmer for about 5 minutes and then remove from heat.  Take the loaves out of the oven and let sit for 10 minutes. 

Cutting into one of the loaves, I thought they would fall apart.  They didn’t.  Yay!  By letting them brown for those twenty minutes allowed the outer skin to keep the loaf together, while the insides were soft and moist.  Was not dry at all.

Dinner was ready!  I placed two pieces on each plate and drizzle some of the sauce on them, and the mashed potatoes.  I enjoyed this and was really surprised that the offsprings enjoyed it too.  😀  offspring #2 stated that he liked how the tofu was mixed well into the loaf and that there were no big chunks he bit into.  Offspring #1 told me that she was going to take some to work with her the next day. 

Ahh… gotta love when a meal comes together perfectly!   Like I said, the only thing that I would change about the loaves is adding brown mustard to the wet ingredients.  Definitely a keeper since Winter is coming and I’ll be in the mood to cook more and of course experiment more and have my offsprings as my OFFICIAL TASTE TESTERS!!! 

I am so bless and fortunate that my family is supporting me.  They may not like some of the dishes that I’ve made thus far; however, to be willing to give them a try is more than I could ever had hope for.

For that, thanks Kids!  I know I may not be able to convert ya (not yet anyway), but I’m glad you guys are hanging in there with me.  😉

And this ends this post.  On to the next one:  Mock Frito Pie.

Leave a Reply

RSS Diabetes News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Health – Heart News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
